Women and Pennsylvania Workers Compensation Laws
Women have been a part of all realms of the workforce for decades and as such, are at risk for the same injuries as male employees. They are also entitled to the same benefits.
Whether they are working in factories or warehouses, traveling the nation’s highways in sales jobs, working in the medical community, dealing with janitorial or cleaning issues, sitting at a desk for eight or more hours a day, or doing any other kind of work that puts them at risk, women are eligible for workers’ compensation under Pennsylvania law.
According to the law, workers injured during the course of employment who cannot perform their job duties due to the injuries are entitled to compensation for lost wages and payment of their medical bills. Additional compensation might be available for more serious injuries.
What Should Women Know about Pennsylvania Workers Compensation Laws?
First and foremost, women should know that they have a right to file for workers’ compensation if they are injured.
But in Pennsylvania, multiple laws affect how much money you’ll receive and how long those benefits will be available. To protect your eligibility for your benefits, you must follow all of the requirements set out by the state.
Like most laws, workers’ compensation laws tend to be complex. This is one of the reasons it’s so important to contact an attorney familiar with Pennsylvania workers’ compensation laws.
What Types of Benefits Can Women Receive Under Workers Compensation Laws?
Under Pennsylvania laws, workers injured during the course of employment could be eligible for:
- Payment of medical expenses
- Permanent injury compensation
- Total disability for those who cannot return to work
- Partial disability compensation for those who must miss up to 500 weeks of work
- Death benefits for survivors of someone killed on the job
It’s important to note that you only have a short period to take action after you’ve been injured at work. In most cases, you must report your injury to your employer within 21 days of the day you were injured. You must file for workers’ compensation benefits within three years of the date you were injured.
The smartest thing you can do if you were injured in the workplace is to contact an attorney as soon as possible. An experienced workers’ compensation attorney can help you make the best decisions and get the ball rolling with your claim.
For more information or to speak to someone familiar with women’s rights and Pennsylvania workers’ compensation laws, contact Heavens Law at 888.897.5377.