Sex Crimes Penalties
Laws and penalties for sex crimes in Pennsylvania
Indecent assault, sexual assault, rape, and involuntary deviate sexual intercourse are the sex crimes punishable by law in Pennsylvania. Often, penalties for the aforementioned sex crimes are significant and life changing. The age of the victim and the type of sex crime committed by the convicted person determines the penalties the sex offender will face.
Even if a person isn’t convicted of a sex crime and has only a charge levied against him, he or she could still suffer from irreparable damage. Being accused of committing a sex crime in Pennsylvania can be devastating. Luckily, there are attorneys in Pennsylvania who deal specifically with cases related to sex crimes. As someone accused of a sex crime in Pennsylvania, you’d want to get as much information as possible about the crime and its consequences. The laws and penalties related to sex in Pennsylvania are what Pennsylvania attorneys can inform you about. Also, they can help you get out of trouble if the allegations against you false. Without wasting any more time, let’s take a look at the laws and penalties for sex crimes in Pennsylvania.
Sexual assault laws and penalties
A catchall offense, sexual assault involves engaging in sexual intercourse or deviant sexual intercourse with another person without their consent. Although it doesn’t qualify as a rape, sexual assault is a second-degree felony carrying a penalty of up to ten years in prison.
Indecent assault laws and penalties
Indecent assault includes all intimate touching done to arouse or satisfy sexual desire and is treated as a first or second-degree misdemeanor. The degree of indecent assault depends on the age of the victim. An indecent assault will be treated as a first-degree misdemeanor if the victim is under the age of 13. A first-degree misdemeanor carries fines of up to $5000 and imprisonment of up to 5 years while a second-degree misdemeanor results in fine of up to $2000 and up to 2 years in prison.
A severe form of sexual assault is aggravated indecent assault. Treated as a second-degree felony, aggravated indecent assault involves anal or genital penetration with a body part of a person aged younger than 15. Though, to qualify for punishment, the accused or convicted perpetrator needs to be at least four years older than the victim. Punishment for aggravated indecent assault in Pennsylvania includes up to $25000 fine and up to ten years in prison. Also, if the victim is younger than 13, the aggravated indecent assault will become a first-degree felony carrying up to $25000 fine and up to twenty years in prison
Rape laws and penalties
The most recognized sex crime, rape is engaging in sexual intercourse with another person under any of the following circumstances:
- Using force
- Giving threat of force
- Victim being unconscious
- Victim being substantially impaired i.e. under the influence of drugs or alcohol
A first-degree felony, rape carries a penalty of up to twenty years in prison. Being accused of a sex crime can destroy your life though you can limit the damage by taking help from Pennsylvania attorneys.