Pennsylvania DUI Attorneys
The penalties for a first time DUI offense in Pennsylvania can be severe. For the simplest DUI, there is no minimum jail time required or license suspension but a minimum $300 fine. If you refuse to take the chemical test, you will be required to get an Interlock Ignition Device. There’s a series of penalty tiers depending on the driver’s BAC (blood alcohol content). These tiers go by the following levels; .08%-.10%, .10%-.159% and .16% or higher. The initial time you are caught and convicted for drunk driving in the State of Pennsylvania, you will get six months probation and a $300 fine if your BAC was within .08-.99. If your BAC happened to be from .10-.159 you will get from 2 days-6 months in prison, a $500-$5,000 fine and a 12-month motorists license suspension. If your BAC was above .16 you will face within 3 days-6 months in jail, a fine from $1,000-$5,000 and a 12-month drivers license suspension. If the court allows, you may receive a restricted license after 60 days of your original suspension.
Pennsylvania DUI Laws – Contact a Delaware County & Philadelphia DUI Attorney
Unlike other states, Pennsylvania does not allow one to plead to a lesser offense than DUI. There are no “wet reckless,” or reckless driving involving alcohol. Once one is convicted of a DUI, they are required to get an SR-22, which is proof of financial responsibility. In other words, that one is a bigger liability after a DUI and the state needs to be sure that you have insurance in case it happens again. Typically, one has to pay for minimum state insurance coverage requirements, and insurance agencies will usually require six months of premiums up front.
Pennsylvania Lookback Period
The lookback period, the period that prior DUIs are considered for sentencing, is ten years. Repeat DUI offenses in Pennsylvania can be serious and life-changing. For a second offense, one can expect five days to six months in jail, a $300 to $2,500 fine, and loss of license for 12 months. You are eligible to get a hardship license after 60 days, but during that period, one will be required to acquire an ignition interlock device. For a third offense, one can expect ten days to two years in jail, a $500 to $5,000 fine, and loss of license for 12 months. You are eligible to get a hardship license after 60 days, but during that period, one will be required to acquire an ignition interlock device.
Potential DUI Consequences in Pennsylvania
If you have received a charge, these are the possible consequences:
• No minimum jail time required.
• $300 in Fines & Penalties
• No License Suspension
• 5 Days jail to 6 months
• $300 to $2500 in Fines & Penalties
• 12 Months License Suspension
• 10 Days in jail to two years
• $500 to $5000 in Fines & Penalties
• 12 Months License Suspension
New Supreme Court Ruling Could Decrease Penalties in Certain DUI Cases
November 2016 – Birchfield vs. North Dakota, requires a warrant if someone suspected of driving under the influence refuses to take a blood test. In Pennsylvania, the ruling means police officers can no longer threaten DUI suspects with the highest possible penalties if they refuse to submit to a blood draw.
Contact a Delaware County, PA DUI Attorney
We know that you may have not been adequately tested, and we help you solve any problems related to a DUI charge. Furthermore, it is our passion is to help you fight your charges successfully. Most of all, that is why it is important to hire the right DUI Lawyer in Pennsylvania to help you avoid any fines or jail time. Contact the Offices of Heavens Law Firm today for your free DUI consultation.