Understanding Weapon Possession Laws In Pennsylvania
An ‘open-carry’ state, Pennsylvania legalizes adults in the state to carry a firearm without a permit. Though, to carry a concealed gun on their body or in their car, adults in the state must obtain a license.
Gun or weapon possession laws in Pennsylvania
Obtaining a concealed gun license in Pennsylvania is simple. To qualify for a concealed gun license in Pennsylvania, individuals must be:
- At least 21 years old
- Pennsylvania residents or residents of another U.S state that provides concealed gun license
- Submit a completed application
- Submit an administrative fee
- Have good character
As long as an agreement is in place with that state, Pennsylvania accepts concealed carry license issued by other states. Also, it is important to keep in mind that the aforementioned things make you eligible for a concealed carry license only and are not a means for you to buy a gun in Pennsylvania. To purchase a gun in Pennsylvania, individuals in the state must undergo a background check conducted by a firearms dealer. Also, a special concealed carry permit is required to carry a gun in places other than your home or place of business. Gun laws in Pennsylvania prohibit the following individuals from carrying a gun in the state:
- A person convicted of certain domestic violence crimes
- An individual convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs on three or more occasions within a five-year period
- People dishonorably discharged from a U.S armed forces branch
- People who drink habitually
- People adjudicated as offenders within the past ten years
- People adjudicated as incompetent or mentally unstable
- Individuals convicted of drug crimes
- A person with a reputation of being a threat to public safety
- A person who has escaped judicial captivity
- Convicted felons
In order to determine an individual’s eligibility for a license, the sheriff is given a month and a half to conduct an investigation. The investigation includes the use of Pennsylvania Instant Check System (PICS) to perform a background check on the individual and find out if he or she is prohibited by law to acquire a gun carry license. The sheriff can deny the individual a gun carry license if he deems the individual as having a bad character or reputation. On the other hand, an individual will be issued a gun carry license if he or she clears the PICS check and is of good character. In addition to the aforementioned prohibitions, carrying a gun in a court facility and within school, property is illegal and punishable by law.
Penalties for unlawful gun or weapon possession in Pennsylvania
Carrying a concealed gun in Pennsylvania without a permit is considered as a serious offense. In fact, it is a third-degree felony which carries fines of up to $15000 and up to 7 years imprisonment. Carrying a gun in a court facility or within school property is a first-degree misdemeanor carrying fines of up to $10,000 and up to ten years in prison. A good way to deal with all gun-related legal issues in Pennsylvania is taking help from Pennsylvania Attorneys. Pennsylvania Attorneys have knowledge of gun possession laws in Pennsylvania and can help you avoid unnecessary trouble.