Pennsylvania’s traffic violations are covered under many different laws depending on the violation. There is a points system which tracks the number of minor violations and then there are certain offenses which can result in a suspension. Certain, more serious crimes, may also result in the revocation of your driving license. Some of the more serious offenses have the potential to land you in jail as well.
Pennsylvania’s Points System (PennDOT)
The key to understanding traffic violations in Pennsylvania is the PennDOT system. The system tracks points which you receive based upon different violations. Some violations result in the driver being given 2 points. 2 Points are given for violations such as Failure to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk (section 3542(a) of the law) and Violation of restriction on driver’s license (not wearing glasses if required). A bit more serious offenses will result in 3 points. These include violations like not stopping at a red light (3114(a)(1)) or excessive speeding in a designated school zone (3365(b)).
Violations that are even more serious result in the driver being given 4 points. These include violations such as Improper passing on a hill (3306(a)(1)) and leaving a scene of an accident where the property was damaged. There are a few violations which can result in 5 points as well, such as excessively speeding more than 26 miles over the speed limit and not stopping for a school bus.
Accruing 6 points or more
Accruing 6 points will result in the driver being required to give a written exam if it is the first time that the driver has reached 6 points. Once a driver drives for 12 months without any further violations 3 points are removed from their record. If the driver reaches 6 points for the second time they are required to attend a departmental hearing. Reaching 6 points for the third time will result in the driver having to attend a hearing and a 30 day license suspension may also be tacked on. Accumulating 11 points will result in the driver’s license being automatically suspended.
Excessive speeding will result in the driver being required to attend a hearing. Excessive speeding in this case is defined by several factors, such as speeding more than 31 miles above the limit. The hearing will determine what happens to the driver. In most cases, the license of the driver is suspended for 15 days or more and there is a special driving test which has to be given again. Once the 15 days are over 5 points will also be added to the driver’s record.
Certain serious violations can result in the driver getting their license revoked as well. This includes crimes such as DUIs, committing a felony or a homicide with a vehicle, fleeing the police, driving recklessly, driving when the license is suspended, and not stopping for a school bus. There are different conditions for getting a license again after revocation depending on the violation that was committed.